Polk County NHMP

Project Background

The Polk County NHMP was formally approved on October 14, 2009.  The plan expired on October 14, 2014, to regain compliance with DMA2K, the plan will need to be reviewed, updated, re-adopted, and re-approved by FEMA. The NHMP includes addenda for the cities of Dallas, Falls City, Independence, and Monmouth.

Polk County and the participating cities have initiated the update process now in order to take advantage of grant funding and technical support currently available through the Oregon Partnership for Disaster Resilience (OPDR). Updating the mitigation plan is a requirement for maintaining eligibility for the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Pre-Disaster Mitigation and Hazard Mitigation Grant Programs. By updating the plan and having it re-approved by FEMA, Polk County and the participating cities will regain their eligibility for FEMA Hazard Mitigation, Pre-Disaster Mitigation and Flood Mitigation Assistance grant program funds.

This project is funded through the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) FY14 Pre-Disaster Mitigation Competitive Grant Program.

The update process presents an opportunity for Polk County and the participating jurisdictions to (1) document successful hazard mitigation actions that have occurred over the past five years and (2) prioritize mitigation activities through the year 2022.

Below is the draft Polk County Multi-jurisdictional Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan:

(Click on the volume name to access to plan volume)

Volume I – Basic Plan

Volume II – City Addenda

Volume III – Appendices